Courtney Isabella Memorial Scholarship Fund

The Courtney Isabella Scholarship Fund was established in 2006 to provide post high school educational awards to children that embody the Soap Box Derby sportsmanship ideals that were displayed by Courtney Isabella.

Courtney Isabella, age 11, died suddenly in October of 2005 as a result of a viral infection. At the age of two, she was diagnosed with Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis. Her brief life was constantly wrought with pain that was at times unbearable. Courtney tried to participate in many team sports that other children normally do. Unfortunately, her disease limited her physical capabilities. There were two activities that Courtney eventually fell in love with; dancing and Soap Box Derby racing. For four years Courtney raced her car, never finishing first, but always being competitive. She enjoyed the bond of racing with the many friends she met. Her presence at a track brightened the day for all involved. Courtney would capture everyone’s heart with her radiant smile and her positive attitude toward the sport of racing.

She was the 2004 recipient of the Keystone Racing Association’s Sportsmanship Award. With these attributes, she was a true champion.

Indian Valley Soap Box Association (IVSBA) in partnership with The Keystone Rally Association, will award an educational scholarship each fall, beginning in 2006, to a child racing in the Keystone Rally circuit.

Scholarships awarded to date: $14,250

If you would like to make a donation to the fund, please make a check payable to:

Courtney Isabella Memorial Scholarship Fund (CIMSF)
P.O. Box 64573
Souderton, PA 18964

IVSBA is a 501(c)3 organization. Please consult with your tax advisor on the deductibility of your donation.

2009 Courtney Isabella Memorial Scholarship Award rules:
The Courtney Isabella Memorial Scholarship Fund will again award $4000 in college scholarships to three Keystone drivers. In order to be eligible for the award each candidate must:

  1. Exhibit good sportsmanship through the Fall 2009 Keystone racing season
  2. Participate in at least 7 of the Fall Keystone Rally races.
  3. Submit an essay of at least 500 on the following topic: "Sportsmanship: How it affected me in 2009"
  4. Complete the application form (attachment at the bottom of this page) and submit with the essay.

2009 Winners

(Left to Right)
Third - Julie Stevenson ($500 Scholarship)
Third - Chris Martorana ($500 Scholarship)
Third - Megan Hydusky ($500 Scholarship)
Second - Madalyn Slook ($1000 Scholarship)
First - Courtney McKain ($2500 Scholarship)

2008 Winners

First - Brooke Finkbeiner ($2500 Scholarship)
Second - Tyler Silfies ($1000 Scholarship)
Third - Madalyn Slook ($500 Scholarship)

2007 Winners

First (tie) - Andrew Rentzel and Brandon Harrar (Each will receive a $1750 Scholarship)
Andrew attends Messiah College and Brandon attends Kutztown University.
Third - Brianna Hellerick ($500 Scholarship)
Brianna attends Montgomery County Community College.

2006 Winner

Alex Hinsey (Received a $1250 Scholarship)
Alex attends the University of Pittsburgh.